Appreciating the Aesthetics of Nature



The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature.
– Anne Frank


P8306494.JPG

One of the best ways to relieve stress or anxiety is to take in the sights and sounds of nature which is super beneficial to our minds, researchers say. Based on researches, Nature has a great impact on people and can improve human’s physical and emotional being. It can reduce blood pressure, heart rate, muscle tension, and the production of stress hormones. Also, connecting with nature can improve our mental health, it can reduce the stress, anxiety, depression, anger or fear and can increase pleasant feelings.

I always like referring myself to as a nature enthusiast for I really love surrounding myself with the beauty of nature. For me, I simply find a little bit of joy and serenity when I walk outside and when I appreciate what the nature offers.

It’s calming and I love every inch about it. I love how the wind sways my dry locks causing it to tangle even more, I love hearing the birds sing in harmony, I love seeing lots of green around me (it’s my favorite color) and I absolutely love looking up to the bright sky.

That’s why when I need to get my frustrations out or my even my problems, I often go out for a while with my camera hanging by my side and take snapshots of those aesthetic plants that I see, and of course, the sky. It’s kind of therapeutic for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really love taking pictures of the nature. My most favorite is probably my mom’s roses in her little garden. I’ve been a rose lover ever since I was a kid actually, I mean who doesn’t love roses right? That’s why I always get excited whenever I see that there’s a new rose that bloomed in my mother’s garden. I would rush back inside the house to get my camera and then take two or who-knows-how-many pictures of it to my heart’s content.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Did I mention I also love my neighbor’s yellow and orange Cosmos?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


The Golden Hour or sometimes called as the “Magic Hour” is what I’m always waiting for. The golden hour refers to the period just after sunrise or just before sunset, professional photographers claimed it as the best time of the day because the sunlight gives that soft and stunning effect on your picture. The diffused light creates a majestic flare and a warm effect that makes everything even more magical. To witness and capture this moment is a magical thing for me. It’s one of the good ways to end my day indeed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


The sky never fails to make me feel relaxed. Whenever I’m on my way to school, kidding aside, I tend to squint up to the sky for a while because it gives me tranquility that relaxes my mind. But on some days, I found myself looking up to the sky, smiling and wondering how it feels like sleeping on those fluffy clouds hovering above me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
(fact: I have a thing for sky pictures. who’s with me?)


I recently learned from my father when I asked him about my Philosophy report which is about Environmental Aesthetics: In order to appreciate an object, you must be interested to it. You can’t find beauty and art on an object if you’re not open to it.

It’s good knowing how simple things can bring joy to me, the sky, the sunset, the plants, the breeze, you name it and that only explains that I really can and I know how to appreciate small and simple things which is remarkable.

I remember during our Holy Retreat when I was in Grade 10, the speaker made us do an activity. He wanted us to isolate ourselves from one  another to make sure that we don’t talk, pick our own quiet place outside and ask ourselves these two questions: “Who Am I?” and “Who Am I in the Eyes of God?”. Together with my camera, a paper and pen, with the calming nature and a striking view of the sunset and the whole city, I started asking myself those two questions. But instead of answering, I ended up crying.
I was crying because of these 3 reasons: 1.) I didn’t know who I was that time. I was confused with who I really was 2.) Everything was really peaceful. The nature, the background music, the stunning sunset. It made me cry because finally, I told myself, I was alone and I was far from the noisy city, far from my problems, from school, from everyone else. I was only surrounded with the scenic nature and by His presence, and lastly, 3.) I was able to converse with myself and with God without any distraction, It was just us and the serene nature. I was in a pure bliss that time, I couldn’t contain the happiness and a bit of sadness that is welling up inside me that’s why I cried.

But still, I wasn’t able to find the perfect answer. Instead I answered, “I am a person trying to find herself” and “I am a daughter of God”, and at the end of the session, everything felt quite light. I felt a bit happy and that was when I also started appreciating the beauty of nature. Oh how I wish I could go back to that beautiful place that is filled with happy memories.

The truth is, our world is beautiful and there’s something more to it. It’s sad to say that the beauty that it has is slowly vanishing because of us. Us, the stewards, continues to destroy the lovely gift that our God lent to us and that is the Nature.

la-reveuse

3 Comments Add yours

  1. We have been given a beautiful world. What shall we pass on to future generations?

    Like

    1. Rossaine says:

      I don’t really have the best answer to your question Sir, for now. The future is a mystery, but if we woke up and realized that we should be making this world a better place for the future generation then there’s no doubt that we will give them a beautiful world. But if we continue to destroy it, then I’m afraid there will be nothing left for them.

      Like

      1. I agree. The world will be as beautiful as we make it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

